History of the Diocese



1710 Oct. 10  First  Anglican service held in Annapolis Royal
1745-1748 Anglican  services held in Cape   Breton by British  chaplain
1749 Founding  of Halifax
1750 St. Paul’s Church, Halifax, “oldest Anglican church in Canada” 
1750-1752 Over  2,000 Lutherans immigrate
1754 St. John’s Church, Lunenburg established
1758 “Little  Dutch Church”
1768 First Anglican service in Prince Edward Island
1787 Diocese of Nova Scotia created (included present-day Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland) Charles Inglis, 1st bishop 
1789 King’s  College founded in Windsor
1791 St. George’s Church,  Sydney, Cape Breton
1792 Diocese  of Quebec  created



1825   Diocese  of Nova Scotia divided into 4 archdeaconeries:  NS, NB, NL and Bermuda
1836 St. Paul’s, Charlottetown,   PEI founded
1839 Diocese  of Newfoundland  created
1845 Diocese of Fredericton created
1860 PEI becomes an  archdeaconery
1866 Rural deaneries created (Tangier,  Lunenburg, Shelburne, Annapolis, Kings, Amherst, St. George and Cape Breton)
1867 Confederation
 1869  St. Peter’s Church, Charlottetown, PEI
 1873  St. Peter’s Church consecrated as a cathedral   
 1885  W.A. founded
 1893  First  General Synod, Church of England in Canada 1st Primate of All Canada, Robert  Machray



1905 W.A. established in this diocese
1908 Book of Common Praise
1910 Cathedral   Church of All Saints,  Halifax  
1918 Canadian Book of Common Prayer
1938 Book of Common Praise (rev. 1938)
1955 Church of England  in Canada  becomes The Anglican Church of Canada
1958 Primate’s Fund (now known as Primate’s World  Relief and Development Fund)
1959/1963     Book of Common Prayer (“burgundy” book)
1966 WA becomes  Anglican Church Women (ACW)
1971 Atlantic School of  Theology founded
1971 Anglican/United  Hymn Book (“red book”)
1976 Ordination of  women as priests in the Anglican Church of Canada
1982 Cursillo  introduced into this diocese
1985 Book of  Alternative Services
1993 First woman bishop in the Anglican Church of  Canada
1994 Website posted
1997 Ordination of  Vocational Deacons in this diocese
1998 Common Praise



2001 Lutherans in full communion
2004 Bishop Sue Moxley ordained Suffragan  Bishop
2007 Bishop Sue Moxley Diocesan Bishop
2008 Bishop Ron Cutler Ordained Bishop
2010 300th anniversary of continuous  Anglican worship in Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island